Whole Grain Blender Waffles or Pancakes

From DIY

If you told me light and fluffy waffles could come out of a blender, I’d tell you to take your fish oil recipe somewhere else.  The blender is too fast!  The gluten would develop, the waffles would be dense.  I’ve made wheat bread in my blender- I know of what I speak.

However, if you start out with whole grains, NOT whole grain flour, the blender can’t possibly grind the grain fine enough to prevent the jagged shards of bran from slicing through any gluten strands that attempt to form.  You’re guaranteed light and fluffy waffles with all those air bubbles!

I’ve seen a lot of recipes for blender waffles, and an equal amount of praise.  When I found this recipe at Sue Gregg’s website, I knew I had to try it- two kinds of grain (with an invitation to try any others you’d like), far less oil than any other recipe, and no sugar.

The first time I made these I used everything the recipe called for, and used thinned-down yogurt as the liquid.  The entire family LOVED them.  They loved them just as much as they love my bleached-flour, sugar, vanilla waffles!  If you know how careful my oldest daughter is about what she eats, you’d be running for you blender Saturday morning.  I’ve tried these with soy milk and lemon juice, to try and ease the tummy of my lactose-intolerant daughter, and again: very good.  They had a different taste and texture that no one could quite describe- light, airy, crispy, stiff.  A slightly beany flavor that matched well with the grains.

If you’re looking for a new way to use whole grains without milling them, definitely add this to your recipe list!

From DIY

Whole Grain Blender Waffles or Pancakes

AMOUNT: 3 – 4 Servings ( 8–6″ pancakes or 3 to 4–7″ waffles )

1.  Place in blender; blend at highest speed 3 minutes (less in a Vita-Mix or Bosch), while adding enough liquid to maintain a vortex:
1 cup buttermilk or yogurt thinned with water to same
consistency or 1 1/4+ cups for waffles
–a thinner batter is best
(Non-dairy allergy alternatives: rice, coconut, almond milk,
apple juice or apple sauce + 1 Tbsp. vinegar)
1 tablespoon olive oil (optional, but recommended)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
(optional for flavor, omit with buckwheat)
1/2 cup uncooked rolled oats or whole oats or other grain
1/2 cup buckwheat, brown rice, corn, millet, or other grain

These are raw whole uncooked grains, not flour! We urge you to experiment with millet, barley, spelt, and Kamut® grain for varied tastes and textures. Avoid bothersome allergies. For those who are gluten intolerant try the gluten free grains:brown rice, corn, and millet.

2. (I didn’t do this step) Cover blender and let stand at room temperature several hours or overnight for improved nutrition. Optional but recommended: See The Two Stage Process.

3. Preheat griddle on medium-high (until water drops sizzle on surface),
or waffle iron at highest temperature.

4. Just before baking, add and reblend for 1 to 3 or more minutes until smooth:

1 egg (or alternative)
1 tablespoon flax seed (Optional for added nutritional value)
additional liquid (as needed to keep batter churning)

5. Blend in thoroughly, but briefly, “sifting” these through a small strainer
(assist with rubber spatula, if needed):

1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt, to taste

1 teaspoon baking powder
(Optional: With the Two Stage Process the baking
powder can be omitted and the baking soda increased to 1/2 to 1 teaspoon as needed).

Technique tip: If you can successfully drop the soda & salt into the spinning blades at the bottom of the vortex, you can omit sifting.

6. Bake on hot griddle or in waffle iron (3 to 5 minutes until crisp), lightly
sprayed with non-stick olive oil spray as needed.

6 Responses

  1. Yum! These look fantastic. I have been looking for a use for the blender. Hope it hasn’t atrophied in the basement.

  2. Yum–I LOVE these! But my recipe doesn’t use vanilla, so I’m going to have to give your recipe a try. My recipe *does* include vegetables, though! Here’s the link (from my baking blog)–

    http://themuffinmom.com/2009/08/22/squash-n-wheat-blender-pancakes/

  3. Fantastic! How did I miss the launch of the new website?

  4. Mmmm.

    PS – I checked the “notify me of follow-up comments” box below, so you should be able to reply to my comments here and I’ll see it. *grin*

  5. […] I make blender pancakes for breakfast, with wheat berries, oats, fresh eggs, and soy milk.  So very, very good!  (The […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 614 other followers

