Find Humane Groceries Where You Live

You can use WSPA’s search engine to look for humane egg, dairy and meat products at your local grocery stores.  Trader Joe’s ranks highest for meat in my area- I need to go check their prices and see if my family gets to eat hamburgers this summer!

Another good resource is localharvest.org– you can search for local anything, pretty much!  There are local ranches and farms that will sell us lamb, chicken, and beef, but in such large quantities that we could never go through it all in a year with our current meals.  Maybe if I could find someone to split my portion with, then it would be a better fit for my family.

I buy my family’s eggs from a local gal I found through Craigslist.  She has a backyard flock, and sells the surplus eggs for $4.50 a dozen.  We use about 4 dozen a month- yes, they’re comparatively expensive, but they taste fantastic and are a cheaper source of protein than meat.

I teach piano, and one of my students also has a backyard flock- when the girls start laying again in the spring (they don’t have a heat lamp for them, so they took the winter off) we’ll trade eggs for lessons.  I’m excited about that!

2 Responses

  1. You know if you know someone with land and is interested…..buying a cow at auction, maybe a year old, grass/hay feed it for a few months, I bet when it’s butchered it is comparable in price. It does depend on the time of year you buy though. I have been chatting with my folks about it. When they move up here I want to halves on it if we do it. It’s what we always did when I was growing up. The animals destined not to stay, I didn’t name so I wouldn’t get attached lol.

  2. For people like me (who live in rural areas), there is no Internet database that tells me where to shop, alas. I find that word of mouth is the most helpful–as well as visiting area farms with my kids, where a simple tour shows me how well the animals are treated/fed and lets me decide who deserves my business. That’s the double bonus–my children get to experience the farm culture and adore the animals (very educational), and I get the chance to shop around!

    Oh yeah–asking local veterinarians also proved helpful, because they can tell me right away which ranch has the healthiest, best-fed cattle, etc

Leave a Reply

