DIY Dishwasher Powder

I posted about our DIY dishwasher powder here on my craft blog last year, but we’ve recently reached Dishwasher Powder Nirvana, so I’m posting an updated recipe with thanks to Su for the missing piece!  I’ve tried washing soda, I’ve tried citric acid, I’ve tried just baking soda and borax, but this is my favorite.  Other iterations of the recipe left a white film on my glasses, but not any more!  So much of this depends on your machine and water, so you can tweak it to work best for you.  I use heated water, and it helps dissolve stuck-on food.

Basic Dishwasher Powder

1 cup baking soda

1 cup borax

1/4 cup table salt

Use 1 Tbsp per load, with a white vinegar rinse

6 Responses

  1. Thank you. My first attempt with my made up recipe went okay, but I am willing to give it another go with an actual (and endorsed) one.

  2. Umm….Go Myrnie! 😉

  3. I’ll have to try this…I’ve got all the ingredients. I use Palmolive’s Ecoliquid(Family Dollar has it), or whatever it’s called, and I’ve tried Dr. Bronner’s all purpose cleaner. This is much less inexpensive!

  4. Hey, hey! It worked…Adding salt helped. Glad to hear it.

Leave a Reply

