Duck Eggs

We’ve (read: I’ve) purchased our eggs for the past year from a local gal with a large backyard flock.  They are DELICIOUS, beautiful, an inexpensive-ish protein (we pay $4.50 a dozen, the same price as we would at the store for free-range/organic eggs.)  She has a variety of chickens, so we get a variety of sizes and colors.  Before you gasp at the price, absolutely these cost more than grocery store eggs.  Way more.  But, we use four dozen a month.  The price difference, per month, is about $10 I think.  (What are Costco eggs running these days?)  We don’t buy a lot of meat, and for us the taste of the eggs and better living conditions of the chickens is completely worth a few extra dollars a month.

**Quick fact check: White eggs come from…white chickens.  Brown eggs come from brown chickens.  Generally.  Americaunas, aka Easter Egg Chickens, lay green or blue.  Egg shell color has NOTHING to do with nutritional content.  Brown eggs typically cost more, because the brown birds weigh more, and eat more feed, so they cost more to keep around per egg.  Yeah?  Yeah.

I got really excited last Fall when I found out that a new piano student kept chickens in his backyard…frugal and shameless, I suggested a swap: eggs for lessons!  The girls are laying again, and I got my first dozen eggs this week.

It’s still early in the year for their girls, and egg production is spotty.  The smallest in the flock is laying her diminuitive eggs.

And the ducks are merrily laying these clonkers.  (The egg carton couldn’t even close properly over these eggs.)

I scrambled up four of them to go with a mess of greens (a leftover bunch of kale, and a bag full of collards from Mom’s green house.)  Four eggs made a little over ONE CUP of liquid.  Four eggs fed four people.  Wowzers!  The taste is different- richer, heavier, more filling.  Comparing duck eggs to chicken eggs feels like comparing whole milk to skim.

We eventually want to add a little flock to our backyard, and Mrs. B says she loves her ducks.  They waddle around, they’re kinder to kids than chickens are, they lay huge eggs, and lay more consistently through-out the year.  They DO need a body of water to paddle in- she uses a horse trough that’s easy to fill and easy to dump into the garden.  However, they poop a LOT.  They want to poop in the water, so it has to be cleaned daily.  I think we have a few years before I feel comfortable adding a band of poultry girls to our life, so lots of time to think it over…but until then, lots to think about!  (Has anyone else eaten duck eggs?  KEPT ducks?

14 Responses

  1. The duck eggs are gianormous! And I pitied poor Alice with her big ol’ eggs. My sympathies have waned.

    To play myth buster. 🙂

    Breed of the birth determines the color of the egg. White and brown birds both lay brown and white. No correlation I don’t think. The color of the ears however can be. We have two Easter Eggers (a mutt that has some of one of the tinted layers in them) and they lay pale green and blue eggs, respectively. One bird is brownish and the other is white-ish. Both are smallish. 😉

    Brown eggs do tend to come from bigger birds and the commercial laying facilities prefer smaller birds. Although I also think part of it is also demand. Brown eggs look healthier!

    Speaking of eggs, next time you swing through town, swing on by with a carton. Please. Really.

  2. Wow…those eggs really are something!

    • They were just different enough to make you notice- deeper taste, thicker shells, tougher membrane inside, really hard to scramble. Just generally more *oomph* to em 🙂

  3. Very cool. We have a relative up in Wisconsin that raises chickens for eggs. It was fun getting to try some farm raised eggs.

  4. wow! Myrnie, future egg farmer? 😉
    I’ve tried duck egg, but they’re salted and preserved – chinese style. I’m so curious about duck eggs. Richer, eh? I like rich

    • I mean, curious about fresh duck eggs.

      • I’ve seen the salted and preserved eggs at the markets around here (and red eggs, and tea eggs, and quail eggs…so many kinds of eggs!) Are they good? Should I try one? 🙂

      • You should try them! 🙂
        The ones that I’m used to is the century egg(not my fav, but it is not bad ) or just plain salted duck eggs. It’s pretty good in small amounts, only because it is so salty. Normally, we eat it crumbled over congee. I’ve seen pickled eggs in jar, sold in ice arenas in smaller towns around here. So far, I’ve been far too much of a chicken to try those. I don’t even know how to eat those.

      • Mmm, I’ll have to try those! I’ve heard of pickled eggs- they sound tasty 🙂 Easy too- I guess you just bring pickle juice to a boil, cool it down, and drop in shelled hard-boiled eggs? After a week or so, you eat them! 🙂

  5. Be forewarned that while those duck eggs look gigantic, DIY mama’s hands are also abnormally small. Like easily-fit-inside-a-pringles-can-and-steal-them-all small. It’s kind of like how I’m so huge that I look like I’m 10 feet away, when I’m really 20 feet away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

