Mindset Makeover

042

OK, I’m re-loading my outlook on life.  Yesterday’s post was just…umm…a little depressing, no?

SO.  For background, it’s turns out I’m human.  My parents just bought an adorable beach cottage, furnished it up nice with brand-new, matching furniture.  My sister just moved to town, and is getting ready to move into a gorgeous house, with pretty  much the kitchen of my dreams.  Soaring cherry cabinets.  Lots of them.  Gas stove.  Kitchen island.  I am SO happy for them!  But, I come home to my adorable and happy home…and sometimes all I notice are the library books piled up by the hearth, the baby socks under the coffee table, the dishes in the drainboard (and sink, and counter, and table, depending on what was happening when we left the house.)

This morning I woke up early with the toddler, we cuddled for a while, then I made french toast for breakfast with the rest of last week’s bread.  Because my husband is home most mornings, he gets to join us for the breakfast which I LOVE.  He said the prayer, I cut up Mimi’s toast, he helped Ernie…and it struck me that, even though my house is cluttered, even though there are normally dirty dishes somewhere (because I’m normally cooking SOMETHING)…I wouldn’t change a thing.

I love that our grocery list is down to vegetables, bulk items, milk, and fruit when it’s local and on sale.  I love that I don’t have weekly shopping errands to run at this store and that store.  I love that kids are happy and healthy with big imaginations.

Yeah, I’m nervous about what this year will hold, for a lot of different reasons.  I have to believe it will all work out great, but part of me really wants to know HOW it will work!  But my goal this year, and it was my goal months ago, is to enjoy today, prepare for what will come, and not worry about tomorrow.  If we’re prepared, really we’ve done all we can.  Worrying and fretting won’t change anything.  Well, that’s not true.  It will make us grumpy and haggard looking…and then our children will think they’re being raised by a demon-ogre-woman…but really, that’s not the kind of change you want, is it?  No.

So bring on the sun- I have a garden to grow.  And you can bring on the rain, too- I have a jacket.

–Myrnie

5 Responses

  1. So true. We recently added back in cable tv and I’ve found myself watching home decorating shows now and again and I’ll think “Ooh that would be nice”, but then I look around and realize that I’m really happy with what I’ve got. Our life isn’t impressive but it’s full of really good things that make me happy. 🙂

  2. Great job beating back that green-eyed monster! And mornings spent cuddling with little guys can change anyone’s outlook.

  3. I love the positive outlook, Myrnie.

  4. Bring on the rain!!

  5. It will all turn out how God intended. All we can do is to have faith. Life is all about perfecting our souls, molding and shaping us, and reshaping us. Anything we find difficult is God’s way of challenging us to grow. It’s truly a gift to recognize where we are falling, or could potentially fall into sin. You are making your life your own, and God’s blessings as you create your authentic home!

Leave a Reply

