Binging

It’s Halloween season, and I know I’m not immune to it.  The kids’ two-fisted, gluttonous*, approach to life right now has rubbed off on me- I went grocery shopping alone today, and binged HARD.

  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 3 crowns of broccoli
  • 2 parsnips
  • 3 turnips
  • 2 acorn squash
  • 1 pound raw almonds
  • 1 tube pork sausage
  • 1 pound bacon

Fall vegetables are here, man!  You can tell from the amounts that my kids have no intention of eating ANY of these vegetables, or meats.  Well, Ernie might eat the bacon.  (Strike that- she’ll probably arm wrestle her dad for the last piece, I forgot.)

I’m looking forward to some tatties and neeps, some sauteed parsnips, some oven-roasted squash, some roasted cauliflower, some broccoli-cauliflower salad.  Mmmm boy.  My husband’s been talking about this one woman’s eggplant parmagiana ever since we met- I can’t possibly get the recipe, since she lives in Brazil, speaks nothing but Portuguese, and we have no way of contacting her.  But by gum, this is my first shot with egg plant and there’s got to be something delicious to do with it!

We visited the pumpkin patch this morning as well, and I have 37 pounds of pumpkin on my front porch to be roasted and pureed- I know they’re just lowly jack-o-lantern pumpkins, but we’ve been cooking and eating them for years.  Time to fill up the freezer!

(Oh, and those almonds?  I bought almond milk for my youngest last week, and she and I drank a gallon in about 3 days.  It’s like liquid pralines, and I just have to know if homemade is anywhere near as decadent as Silk’s version.  I know the Silk brand is famous for adding thickeners and sweeteners, but that sweet nuttiness gave me hope I could make it at home and be satisfied.  I’ll let you know.)

*Lest you doubt my true gluttony, this “alone time” also included a solo trip to the library, and an ice cream cone for one at the local DQ.  Oh yeah.  I have three months before I become Milk Central for this little one, I’m getting my time-on-the-town while I can!

5 Responses

  1. I love Autumn Veggies and pork suasage and bacon.mmmmm

    Also the sound to the almond milk, I really miss nutty things but as my little one is allergic we can’t have things like that in the house! :o(

  2. Sorry about that, Bev! With our youngest being lactose intolerant, I’m missing all the cheesy things I normally make….but it’s worth it not to make those little bodies sick!

  3. Ooooh…..Tatties n’ Neeps. I LOVE it!

  4. At least you binge on veges! Last year this time I was big time pregnancy binging on Halloween candy. 🙂

    I love Winter vege stew and was just thinking about it last week. It must be that time of year!

  5. […] what you're saying is… Spacey Casey on BingingAunt LoLo on Bingingdoityourselfmama on What to do with Green Tom…doityourselfmama on […]

Leave a Reply

