Chores

Sometimes, I feel like an actual adult.  Like the days I remember to make my bed, AND start a load of laundry, AND clean the kitchen before I go to bed, AND vacuum the crumbs under the table, AND put the bills in the mail box, AND make dinner…and then I remember that I’m not actually doing all that, I’ve trained the kids to fight over my chores.

I think I’ve talked about this before, but running a house with kids in it would be really hard for me if the kids didn’t actually participate in running the house.  Plus, obviously they need to know that it takes work to make the world go round and that life really is better when you can walk through the play room without dying from fall-related injuries.

chores

Chores that my five-year-old can help with:

  • Unloading the dishwasher, and putting away the dishes
  • Running the crumb sweeper
  • Taking out and bringing in the rolling garbage cans
  • Putting mail in the mail box
  • Putting away her toys and books
  • Setting the table for dinner
  • Clearing the table after dinner
  • Loading the dishwasher
  • Switching the laundry (I turn on the dryer)
  • Unloading the dryer and bringing the full laundry basket up the stairs
  • Putting away her laundry

Chores she’s learning to do:

  • Wipe down the table after meals
  • Wash the windows with a rag
  • Helping to sort the clean laundry by person

Chores my 2-year-old can help me or her sister with:

  • Putting books and toys away
  • Running the crumb sweeper
  • Loading the dishwasher
  • Unloading the dishwasher (she hands dishes to the person putting them away)
  • Putting away her own plastic dishes in the drawer
7 Responses

  1. I’m just trying to picture Ming Wai doing the rolling garbage can. Anything bigger than the small grey one, and she ends up flat on the ground with a garbage can on top of her. 😉

  2. need to work on this again, they do the dishes……. but need to work on more.

  3. Oh, pretty glasses and pottery. : )

    What a sweet girl helping momma. It does help a lot, and they need to learn those life skills, and of course, learn to help others, especially momma.

    That’s a good idea about helping wash windows. I’ve given up on our old fashioned 70’s windows, but when the new ones come in this month, we’ll start washing.

  4. Wholly support this. We’re living it too.

Leave a Reply

