The Spring Begins

By the calendar, spring is here!  We’ve been having nicer weather, and the “monsoons” have abated at least briefly.  I was afraid all the rain we’ve had washed away all the peas and spinach I planted, but I’ve seen tiny seedlings lined up in the spinach bed,and found sprouted peas when I disturbed the dirt in the pea patch.  There’s hope.

We ordered blueberry bushes and planted them in the bare patch between us and our neighbor- when we moved in, that space was filled by 10-foot-tall,balding laurel bushes.  It took most of a chainsaw blade, and 2 or 3 days, to get those cleared away!  We finally managed to catch our neighbor for a chat the other day, and let him know what we’d planted.  He worriedly replied “They don’t have thorns do they?”  (He also wanted to know where the baby my husband was holding came from, I guess he missed my pregnancy…)

Friday I stopped by the nursery- they had a small selection of veggie starts, but I found two types of lettuce, “di cicco” broccoli, Jersey asparagus, and red globe onion starts.  Everything is in the ground, and I just can’t believe this year is finally here: I have good dirt, in sunshine, that’s weed-free.  It’s a good start, and the garden season is just barely begun!

2 Responses

  1. Ha,ha – where that baby come from? It’s funny how people are so busy these days they don’t notice a huge baby belly! I had one lady(near where I worked) come up to me and ask if I was the one who lost a whole bunch of weight. I was almost embarrassed for her when I told her I had a baby! Mind you I was not heavy, but a skinny pregnant mom – thin arms and legs, and a big protruding stomach. : 0

Leave a Reply

