Gardening Season

I am too busy this year.

Do you know how hard that is to admit?  I’d much rather say I’m too lazy, but I have an awfully compelling argument that I simply overscheduled myself.

See him?

004

He keeps me pretty busy.  (You know, along with homeschooling, parenting, teaching piano, errands, and cleaning up once in a while.)

I realized recently that I can jump up and down and cry because we put all this effort into getting ready for a garden that simply isn’t planted, or I can step back and accept that Spring is a rotten time to grow anything here besides what I already planted (turnips, chard, kale, peas, strawberries, radishes, and lettuce) and simply wait for the non-rainy days and see what goes in next.  I have a great garden planner (look on the “gardening resources” tab at the top of the page) that I can simply open to the current week, and see what still has time for a planting.  I put in bush beans, squashes, and bush cukes last week.  Everything is sprouted, and we’re in business!

(Next year, I’m going to fill every spot NOT taken up by other crops with peas.  We love them, they’re great for the soil, and I won’t feel like a fool with empty garden boxes.  The peas stay in till mid-July around here, and that’s about when we can put in other crops it seems!)

This just has to be a learning year, I’ve never had this much space for gardening, and I’ve never tried to run a house with two kids and a baby.

3 Responses

  1. I’m impressed with all you’ve done. I just skipped the garden this year. It has been an awful season weather wise anyway. Next year you’ll have more time and you can get more stuff planted. But really, you are doing great!

  2. Heh…..next year? My peas are going into POTS. Bunny-proof pots. They simple ate all my seeds last year. *sigh*

  3. Hey! I’ve been reading your blog for awhile and I love it! I am a homeschooling mom like you, and have a lot of the same ideals and goals as you. One of the reasons I decided to homeschool is so that I wouldn’t be bogged down by the crazy-running-around lifestyle that so many seem to have. I wanted to be there, learning and growing and laughing, with my kids, not just take them from place to place. So it seems ironic, doesn’t it, that homeschooling doesn’t mean “not as busy”? I guess there are always things to fill up your time. And thank goodness! Be glad you’re busy filling your time with things you love to do!
    Also, I had HUGE plans for my garden this year, but they didn’t work out because we found out I’m pregnant and then gophers got into the peas and beans. Ah well, maybe next year! Thanks for all the great posts!

Leave a Reply

