Apple Peach Kale Smoothie

20110805-081614.jpg

This is milder and sweeter than the green smoothies I’ve been making, and makes two tall glasses.

Ingredients:
1 fresh peach, skinned
Half an apple, cored and chopped
Two small handfuls chopped kale
Two cups ice cubes
1 cup yogurt milk*
Sugar to taste, 1-2 Tbsp.

Blend away!

 

Nutrition Facts 

  1 Serving

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 279.8
  Total Fat 5.2 g
  Saturated Fat 3.0 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 0.5 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 1.3 g
  Cholesterol 20.8 mg
  Sodium 213.7 mg
  Potassium 1,165.4 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 46.3 g
  Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
  Sugars 7.3 g
  Protein 15.9 g
  Vitamin A 377.8 %
  Vitamin B-12 23.1 %
  Vitamin B-6 18.4 %
  Vitamin C 111.3 %
  Vitamin D 25.0 %
  Vitamin E 11.0 %
  Calcium 55.3 %
  Copper 16.8 %
  Folate 10.7 %
  Iron 8.6 %
  Magnesium 18.8 %
  Manganese 31.4 %
  Niacin 9.9 %
  Pantothenic Acid     15.6 %
  Phosphorus     41.6 %
  Riboflavin 38.7 %
  Selenium 13.8 %
  Thiamin 14.7 %
  Zinc 14.5 %

 

*I make my yogurt in quart jars, and it’s difficult to get the last cup of yogurt out of the jar. I normally pour in some skim milk and shake and stir till the yogurt and milk are mixed. If I’m going to drink it, I might add a spoonful of jam as well. Today I used it to make my smoothie, with about half left over for a snack or another smoothie.

One Response

  1. I have never heard of anyone making their own yogurt. How do you do that? This recipe sounds good. I am intrigued as I have never had a smoothie with kale but I bet the kids would eat it if it were in a smoothie.

Leave a Reply

