Pickled Beets

pickled beets

When was the last time you came across a food that was so good, on a primal level, that you stood in someone else’s kitchen, scooping it into your mouth and hoping no one would notice you?

For me?  About two months ago, in my parent’s beach house.  My mom had a pot of pickled beets sitting on the stove, and I ate every last one, I just couldn’t help it!  Pickled beets are something that’s been around in my family for as long as I can remember- there’s no particular occasion we make them for, but DANG my mom is good at it.

You can tell someone is good at making something when you can’t stop yourself from eating the entire batch, and she says “Oh, it’s just ___.”  Any recipe that starts with “it’s just” is going to be :

a) Simple

b) Insanely good.

Start with a pile of beets.

beets, greens, and carrots from the garden

 

These are from my garden, aren’t they gorgeous?  I’m definitely growing more next year!  I’m awfully proud of that carrot, too, haha.

Scrub and rinse them clean, then chop into cubes about an inch square.  The big beets got chopped lots, the tiny ones didn’t get chopped at all.

Put in a sauce pan and cover with water- bring to a boil and simmer till they’re tender.  You don’t want them falling apart, but a fork should slide in just as easily as you’d want your teeth to.  It will take 15 or 20 minutes, beets are tough buggers.

Strain out the water into a measuring cup- add an equal amount of white vinegar and an equal amount of sugar.  Mix this up good.

Put everything into a non-reactive something (I love glass jars because they don’t stain or hold smells!), put a lid on, and stick it in the fridge for a day or two.  My mom loves to add cloves as well, I prefer to leave them out.

I’m really not sure how long these last, as we normally eat them so fast.  I don’t think they CAN go bad, with all that vinegar and sugar, but they might get mushy?

These are a very sweet pickle, but OH so good with a turkey sandwich.  Or eaten straight out of the jar, in your mother’s kitchen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

  1. It’s official: I am a lazy slouch. Um um um, you are an inspiration of can-do wonder!

Leave a Reply

