Make a Wreath with Garden Cuttings

I finally dove into our busted bushes after the winter snow storm- six feet high, and all bowed to completely block our side path.  Definitely time to get a move on that chore, yeah?

bushes and fence

Part of the problem is that these bushes make bright red, gorgeous berries, in the Fall.  So, of course, I won’t let my husband prune them until the berries mature, and I’ve had a chance to get them all for myself.  Which means it never happened, I should never put chores off.  Then, add 8 inches of heavy snow, and voila: total obfuscation of the garden path.

I hacked my way through today, with some really strong snippers and loppers, and gathered as many berry heads as I could find.  The baby kept me company on a blanket on the lawn (totally normal behavior for February, right, sitting in parkas and ski caps on the lawn in the sun?) and I wove all the berries into my grapevine wreath.

berry wreath

berry wreath

berry wreath

 

So there you have it.  You can totally turn yard clippings into decor.

One Response

  1. It turned out beautiful! I absolutely love it.

Leave a Reply

