January Grocery Tally

This month totally doesn’t count, and I’m not 100% certain I found all the receipts to enter them into my database.  We were also unemployed, and just entering the “freak out” stage where I basically stand on a table shouting “WE WILL SPEND NO MONEY EVER AGAIN UNTIL WE HAVE STEADY EMPLOYMENT!”

January grocery total: $47.91

  • Meat $18.38
  • Pantry items $4.86
  • Produce $11.37
  • Dairy $10.91
  • Eggs $2.39

I know we’re missing some receipts- I only see items at one grocery store, we normally shop at two.  I keep a well-stocked pantry and freezer, so this month was boring, but completely do-able.  I doubt my family noticed much difference beyond being low on milk more often than not, since I only went to the grocery store a few times that month.

I’m hesitant to post this, but I have a point: feeding a family well does not need to be expensive.  We have two adults with good appetites, and three little kids.  I know this would look different if we had teens, but a friend goaded me into action today.  She posted on Facebook begging for advice on how to lower her food bill for her family of three (Mom, Dad, and a baby.)  She spends between $1,000 and $1,500 a month on “natural and organic food.”  I have no idea what she’s buying or eating, but thought that perhaps I could offer a counter point.

4 Responses

  1. wow, i spend $50/a week, and i am super frugal person who cooks almost every meal, and i’m only a single person. then again, i have no garden and spend a lot on things like fruit. your produce bill is low.

    • Yeah…. January was just low in general :). You have access to a lot more local fruit than we do- I know my kids would be much happier eating produce if we lived near you 🙂

  2. I used to keep track until I went off my normal frugal diet due to some stomach issues and low thyroid which has been taken care of. That said, I don’t think I’ve ever made it on $50.00 a month. That’s awesome! When you have to, it can be done.

    Does your friend know about the Hillbilly Housewife budget plans? With a little tweaking, this could be helpful and still healthy.

    “Extending the Table”(Mennonite) cook book has awesome recipes for frugal low meat/vegetarian type meals. It’s a world cook book, the goal being preserving the food supply and sustainable living. I need to get back to this sort of cooking!

    • $50 couldn’t be done more than one month in a row, I think, but I have a pretty well-stocked pantry and freezer. I actually have trouble using all the food I store away, because of the “it’s for later” mentality.

Leave a Reply

